top of page

Health Care Transitions in Remote Areas

Transitions in healthcare are evident in new practice guidelines, in new physical space as well as the transition to a new hierarchy within a professional organization.

The unique challenge of living in a remote area of Canada is already apparent in the delivery of health care as access to larger facilities is often by flight and dependancy on medical emergecny flights is daily. In Canada's northern territories, there is often heavy reliance on the capital city to accept patients from remote communities and redirect patients to larger centres where applicable.

I think that during a time of transition, it is important to understand that the challenges faced in a remote environment are not always transferrable to southern hospitals. Equipment resources, human resources and access to larger health care facilities make transitions difficult but not impossible.

When I moved to work in Iqaluit, I came within the first year of the new hospital opening. It was interesting to see the outcome of this transition and the varying opinions of how hard or easy this change was. In Yellowknife, we are close to opening a new hospital and I often think back to my experience in Iqaluit.

Challenges aside, this is an exciting time to be part of movement and progression. Northern nursing has allowed me to expand my cultural understanding and scope of practice and this new transition will give me a different perspective of change and new beginnings.


bottom of page